4 Comments

“Conventionality is not morality”

Yes, some of you may indeed recognise this quote – It comes from the classic tale of Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte. This novel was my first taste of the nature of classical novels. I picked up this book when I was ten years old and I was admittedly perplexed by a lot of the language, but I thoroughly enjoyed it nonetheless.

Now it appears I have developed a bit of an obsession with the classics. Lately, I simply can’t stay away from them! A few months ago, I bought The Picture of Dorian Gray by Oscar Wilde. That was really when my obsession set in. There is something intriguing about reading a novel that you know was written a very long time ago, using different writing techniques, appealing to a different readership. Even the layout fascinates me! Since then, I simply can’t resist the temptation of picking up a few classics when I’m near a bookshop. I’ve bought Tess of the D’Urbervilles by Thomas Hardy, and, of course, the somewhat dreaded Ulysses by James Joyce. On the desk beside my bed, the stack keeps getting bigger: Unread books fill my personal space. But so little time to read them!

I’m currently nearing the end of Tess of the D’Urbervilles and I must say that if you haven’t read it yet, make sure to do so. It is by far the most gripping, engaging and intriguing classical novel I’ve ever read. I look forward to the supposedly challenging Ulysses! Following that I hope to collect the works of Thomas Hardy – particularly Jude the Obscure.

4 comments on ““Conventionality is not morality”

  1. Patrick you are a born writer my friend. You have a way with words that cannot be matched by many. It is a talent you were born with and I guarantee you will do great things with it! Keep it up!

  2. Thanks for the comment Louise 🙂 And I do certainly appreciate it. It gives me a nice little confidence boost for this blogging thing!

  3. yet again another brilliant article, 😀 i think i truly have found a new favourite information site, 😀 i also have a few books lying around i want to read but cant find the time too, its really annoying 😀 + i really want to read the ancient story’s of atlantis that plato wrote, do those count as classic books?? 😀

  4. Thanks Paul 🙂 And that does sound like it counts as a classic 😛 Reading is great fun so you should give it a go.

Leave a Reply

