2 Comments

Shouldn’t you be Studying?

Procrastination I’m sure has affected everyone reading this. Right now, I’m procrastinating. For example, I’m supposed to be writing a novel for National Novel Writing Month. But suddenly writing a blog about how bad I am at concentration just seems so much more fun than actually concentrating…

Procrastination affects almost every aspect of life. We see procrastination in studying and schoolwork. There’s nothing like that feeling of sitting down to study. Your timetable is taped to the wall in front of you, and you know that this time, everything will go to plan. It won’t be like yesterday, or every other day, for that matter, where you started studying, but found something completely unrelated to focus your attention on.

“There’s a bad smell in here. I need to get a candle.” You then leave your studying to find a candle, which takes at least half an hour, because you’ll probably stop in the kitchen for a slice of toast and a cup of coffee on the way.

“I better check my facebook notifications!” You fetch your laptop – but you never just check a facebook notification. You realise suddenly that you also have to check your mentions on Twitter, and your emails, and read sixteen news articles about The X Factor and I’m a Celebrity… Get Me Out of Here!

Wait – hold on – yes! It’s nine o’clock! That means that it’s time to watch The Apprentice. I’ll finish up my study now for the evening. After all, I am tired. I’ve had a long day, and I’m having a rough time at the moment. I couldn’t sleep last night, and that was bound to affect my performance. So if I evaluate my day, that means I studied… for ten minutes. Not a bad start! Oh – I’m missing I’m a Celebrity… I better run!

2 comments on “Shouldn’t you be Studying?

  1. Another excellent blog! 😀

  2. Excellent, ur class! X

Leave a Reply

