Leave a comment

Chicklit: What do you think?

Chicklit – for most people, the word itself – just those eight letters – releases a tide of strong feelings, some of which are oh so sweet, and some oh so rank. But is this just the marmite effect, or do these novels really have an unfair reputation?

Now, let’s get one thing perfectly straight. I’ve never read a chicklit novel. I’ll admit that I’m prejudiced regarding them. Not only am I am least 99% male, but I also adore first class literature, whether that be classical novels, stunning fantasy novels or heart wrenching dramas. In fact, my only experience of chicklit is their film adaptations. One that I found particularly woeful was the adaptation of Cecilia Ahern’s P.S. I Love You. I was inclined to judge an entire genre on what I saw, but I’m not going to do that. Going by my own rules in my recent post The Problem With Book Snobbery I’m going to throw it out there.

Have you ever read chicklit, and if so, what’s your opinion? And also, if you haven’t explored the genre, do tell why.

Leave a Reply

