2 Comments

Fifty Shades of… Disaster?

Fifty Shades of Grey – if you haven’t heard of this by now, you’re either living in a basement without any contact with the outside world, or… Well, you could just be really, really, really oblivious to the world around you. But I’m going to guess that you have heard of it.

Now just in case you haven’t heard of it, the Fifty Shades trilogy, written by E.L. James, is a series of erotic novels detailing the life of a shockingly bland and useless protagonist called Anastasia. You can probably guess the rest – the following novels are basically about her sexy, raunchy, hot, unrealistic relationship with the greatest catch you could ever imagine – a man who is domineering and a little bit creepy.

Wait, what?! Creepy? Domineering? And women are reading this? Yes, I too was surprised.

In fact, not only are women reading this, they seem to be utterly devouring the entire concept. None of them care that it started off as Twilight fanfiction. Nor do they care that the novels are written appallingly badly. And I mean appalling – like a fifteen year old girls desires bundled into a very sell-able product.

The series has gone on to break book sales records everywhere. Some bookshops have put up signs asking customers not to bother asking for the books – they’re simply all sold out.

Now, I haven’t read them (I know, don’t judge a book by its cover…) but I have read a few pages of one of them. I have to say, that there was something completely hilarious about those few pages I did read. Every sentence seemed to begin with either “Holy Shit!” or “He put his…”. Yes. It really is that bad.

And even though I haven’t read them, I asked my sister what she thought of them. My sister loves books, and I would always trust her opinion. Her prognosis seemed to be that they were terribly written, with annoying and two-dimensional characters, but they were also quite gripping.

This is really the strange part of this whole thing. Nearly everyone who has read them told me that they were dreadful… But they just couldn’t put them down. Why is this? What’s the allure of these erotic – and seemingly dire novels? If you have read them, take the poll and let me know what you thought in the comments.

2 comments on “Fifty Shades of… Disaster?

  1. They were gripping but as they went on, the actually got slightly less gripping. The third book in particular wasn’t as gripping as the first two. And the excessive sex scenes in them actually got very repetitive and boring after a little while. It was almost like the author wanted to write some erotic fiction and needed to find a plot to turn them into something resembling fiction: so she thought to herself “I know, I’ll just take Twilight, change all the characters names, make it about kinky sex instead of vampires and hey presto, we have a trilogy”. Anyway, enough rambling, Patrick you should read them and write another blog based fully on experience. Although I am glad you took my opinion as fact about them! I enjoyed them to a certain extent, but I would say that at times, they were more annoying than enjoyable. Particularly the main character, Anastasia and her way of speaking. Everything about her in fact annoyed me. She was just an annoying character, pretty much the same as Bella in Twilight but actually more annoying. Also, considering the plot just followed the plot of Twilight, the books were quite predictable and filled with extremely weak “bad guys” who all, of course, only wanted Anastasia and tried to kidnap her, etc. All about the damsel in distress. Anyway, that’s enough rambling for me.

Leave a Reply

