3 Comments

Man Booker Prize Longlist 2012

So it’s that time of year again. The Man Booker Prize Longlist was announced on the 25th of July. The twelve books were chosen by a panel of judges, and chosen from 145 titles. Here they are!

Nicola Barker, The Yips (Fourth Estate)
Ned Beauman, The Teleportation Accident (Sceptre)
André Brink, Philida (Harvill Secker)
Tan Twan Eng, The Garden of Evening Mists (Myrmidon Books)
Michael Frayn, Skios (Faber & Faber)
Rachel Joyce, The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry (Doubleday)
Deborah Levy, Swimming Home (And Other Stories)
Hilary Mantel, Bring up the Bodies (Fourth Estate)
Alison Moore, The Lighthouse (Salt)
Will Self, Umbrella (Bloomsbury)
Jeet Thayil, Narcopolis (Faber & Faber)
Sam Thompson, Communion Town (Fourth Estate)

If you go to the links you will be lead to the Man Booker Prize website, and to further information about the authors and their books that have been nominated.

So, what do you think? Have you read any of these books and if so, what did you think of them? I have a theory that some novels get nominated for awards but fail to be as good as they should be. Although I haven’t read any of these books (I know, it’s shameful) so I need opinions from you all. Enjoy!

3 comments on “Man Booker Prize Longlist 2012

  1. Almost none of these are out in the US yet so I have yet to read any of them. I feel like such a loser. I’m going to have to get on Amazon UK and figure it out!

    • Ha, don’t feel like a loser, I live in Ireland, and all of these books are out here… And I haven’t read one of them. Or even heard of most of them admittedly which is even worse! My excuse is that I’ve been immersing myself in the classics recently, but even that’s not a good excuse. 😛 Thanks for the comment 🙂

      • I haven’t heard of them either! I didn’t dare say that. It’s like being at a dinner party and admitting I never liked Charles Dickens – bahhhh! I think you have a pretty good excuse there. It’s hard to get out of the Classics once you’re in deep. : ) Keep truckin’!

Leave a Reply

